pay-off

 

Ask for a quote Visit website
Find dealers / rentals

16 reviews
Write a review

Z-Boat 1800 RP

 
Reviews
Review by Preston Martin, Marine Scientist & Survey Technician at NewFields
We approached Oceanscience in 2014 looking for a simple answer to a tough question - could the Z-Boat help expand our client services for several offices across a range of project applications. We needed the platform to conduct remote hydrographic surveys at industrial facilities and TSFs; nearshore marine and inland aquatic settings to map bathymetry, bottom habitat, water quality, and streamflow discharge; and a vessel which would be adaptive enough to get in and out of remote sites using our existing instrumentation/sensors. We decided on the Z-Boat high-speed, with high-bandwith comms and dual-freq. echosounder. As an oceanographer by training I have been responsible for extensive testing and operating the z-boat for our offices in a range of settings. Bottom line: this is an incredibly stout, seaworthy vessel, which was designed and built as a boat with instruments - not the other way around. We are highly confident in our ability to show up to a site with unknowns, successfully deploy and recover the equipment, and leave with high-quality data. We have yet to have an issue that resulted in rescheduling or having to use a contingency field day. Customer support was also a key selling point for us. Adrian and staff were incredibly responsive and helpful while we were comparing USVs in the marketplace, and have maintained the same excellent service ever since we made the purchase.
Like Reply   753 2015-01-23
Review by Daniel Hill, Survey Division Manager at ESP Associates, P.A.
The Z-boat has been a valuable tool when performing work within an "ideal" pond scenario where the boundaries can be observed and there are no shallow areas causing hang-ups or groundings - setbacks of any remote controlled operation. The boat has been dependable and procduces good soundings. We've had a few high-gain antenna breaks and required adjustments to the propeller angles, but the system has been fairly stable.
Like Reply   881 2014-10-21
Review by John Teegarden, President at BFM Corporation
I can say how pleased we are with the Z-Boat. I went out with a crew yesterday to survey 2000 feet of canal that was about 60 feet wide. Taking 50 foot cross sections it took us three hours to complete. We would have been lucky if a crew doing them conventionally in a boat completed that in two days. The boat is very easy to control and keep on line. Much easier than our 23’ Sea Ark. This was a very worthwhile investment.
Like Reply   852 2014-10-14
Review by Bob Lux, Senior Geomaticist at Atkins
In January of 2013, I was able to witness the Z-Boat in action at a Hydrographic Survey conference. I had seen the boat in magazines, but not in person. My first impression was that it was a lot larger than I expected. When you think about a radio controlled boat, the first thing that comes to mind is a small RC boat zooming around in a pool. At the conference, the boat was displayed in action on a very large tidal river. It was at this point when I was able to witness the power and usefulness that this boat brought to the table for performing hydrographic surveys in less than ideal situations. Teamed up with your favorite hydrographic survey software, you are easily able to collect hydrographic data really no different than you can with you larger crafts. The difference is that you can take (carry) this boat into areas that you would normally not like to take your high dollar hydro boat. While we do not perform the more complicated hydrographic survey projects, we do encounter times when we survey rivers and small lakes. For years, most of us land surveyors have surveyed a pond, river or small lake with a small boat and placing our survey staff in the water or just hopping in and wading neck deep. While this wasn’t always difficult and there are still situations where these procedures are still necessary, there were times when conditions were either too deep or too dangerous to use these technique. Recently, we had pursued a project that was on a very large river with many deep runs and numerous white water situations. While deciding what was the safest and best way to attack this project, I immediately thought of the Z-Boat. With a little presenting and convincing, we were able to purchase the Z-Boat to be used on the upcoming project. I contacted the folks at Oceanscience in March 2014 and got the ball rolling on getting the boat in our hands. They were very easy to work with in getting all of our ducks in a row when dealing with corporate financing and we took purchase of the boat if very little effort. Once I actually got hold of the boat, the first thing I wanted to do was to learn to use equipment. I located the nearest small lake ( I didn’t want to learn how to use it on a river) and set forth to collect a little data. I can honestly tell you that when you open the crate with the Z-Boat and accessories inside, that it can be very intimidating. There is a lot to go into the boat when you first get everything in your hands, But fear not, once you get everything in order that first time, it really isn’t an issue. After reading through the instructions, I assembled all of the necessary parts and placed the boat in the water for its maiden voyage. The first thing you have to prepare for is the speed of this thing. We happened to buy the two motor model and it will surprise you on how strong and fast this thing is. After getting the joyriding out of my system and learning how the boat handled, I took to the task of being able to collect data. Before you start, it is best to make sure you have administrative rights to your computer because you will probably need to install a couple of free programs to ensure you are receiving data to your computer. I had a little trouble getting the communication to my computer properly and I can tell you that 99.999% of the time the problem will be on your end. I made a call to Oceanscience and they were easily able to walk me through what my problem was. Getting your computer communicating with the boat is probably the hardest part of the whole setup. Once you get that going, everything is a breeze. I can tell you that you probably will not have a problem that Oceanscience hasn’t seen before and more than likely it will be on your computer’s end. There are a number of components to have on or be plugged in, so you can also have one of those moments when you realize you are getting any data because you don’t have something on. This system is very easy to use, but there are a number of steps you need go through to get to the point of collecting data. Once you do it a couple of times though, you start to get the hang of it and then it’s just like riding a bike. As far as Oceanscience goes, I couldn’t be happier with their support. As far as the technical support side, I only made a call that first day to get to be able to communicate properly. I am more than confident that if I ever had a problem in the future, that they would easily be able to walk me through it or get me what I may need. I had a couple other incidents that happened while using the Z-Boat that dealt with damage to my components that were due to the rough conditions we were working in, but that nothing to do with the quality of the product but more due to severe conditions. Not that you would want to do this all the time, but I did have the boat in some fairly nasty rapids and it handled everything I put it through including smashing into a boulder and breaking my prop guard off. After looking back at the project, there is no other way I can see doing the work any other way than how we did it. Not only did the boat save me a tremendous amount of time, but I didn’t have to worry about somebody getting hurt or worse while being in the river. I had this boat get sucked into a rapid, get submerged, thrown into rocks and shoved in a truck on a daily basis all while never holding me back on getting completed what I needed to. It’s light weight, easy to operate and can be transported into places that you would have no business getting a larger boat into. I look forward to utilizing the boat from a meager pond survey to the next white water river project. There really is no safer way to perform the work I needed it to do. Include that with the time I saved and it’s a win on all sides.
Like Reply   860 2014-10-10
Review by James Purdie, Director / Registered Surveyor at Scope Surveying
Scope Surveying has been using the Z-Boat over the last 2 years in a variety of locations and have found it to be flawless in its function. It is extremely robust which is great for durability in both transport and on the job. We have also found the support from Adrian at Oceanscience to be extremely helpful and prompt, even with the time difference to us in Australia.
Like Reply   852 2014-10-01
Review by Manuel Aparicio, Civil Works and Closure Chief at Goldcorp Guatemala, Marlin Mine
Amazing product! As we go into closure, our water volume in the TSF is lower and lower so we found in the Z-boat a great product that adapts to our necessity and is very accurate, easy to use, handle and versatile. The communication hardware is awesome and the different settings in the remote and hardware complies with any other hydrographic hardware. I recommend it to use in the mining industry also because it's a safe way to do bathymetries and puts the operator out of dangers of working in water.
Like Reply   859 2014-09-30
Review by John Kerr, PLS, CFedS, President at SurvBase, LLC Anchorage Alaska
The z-boat is a capable solution for smaller/single beam projects in shallow and deep water (to the limits of your electronics). With the right operator it is excellent in tight quarters. It is productive in calm to medium-rough water. HS model as adequate thrust to keep up with strong flowing water. Oceanscience technical support is also excellent. 5 stars if it supported total station based postion logging on-board without modification. Cost of initial acquisition, customization, training, and operation is not insignificant but we anticipate that the boat and electronics will be sufficiently durable to provide a positive return on the investment.
Like Reply   902 2014-09-25
Review by Bengt G Flyckt, Managing Director at PRiMAB
The Z-boat is a perfect solution for shallow water hydrographic surveys. Very useful in tailings facilities, water filled mines and smaller lakes. It is easy to transport and launch. If loaded with Hypack it produces final customer products like depth maps and volume calculations. I would vote five stars, but I miss some supplies like ergonomic carrying solutions for rough terrain and transport racks for service cars.
Like Reply   856 2014-09-24
Review by Scott Corwine, Hydrographic Surveyor at Shafer, Kline & Warren, Inc.
Handles all of our shallow water and river crossing needs. Easy to deploy. No more aluminum boat, outboard and gas tank. We can now access some of the most remote sites with the use of an ATV. Realtime remote communication with HYPACK makes data collection and processing an ease.
Like Reply   918 2014-09-24
Review by Alberto Behar, Professor at ASU
Quality product. Works great! Highly capable.
Like Reply   908 2014-09-23
Review by Juan Beltran, CEO at LIDAR America
The Boat its easy to use, transport, control and deploy. 2 persons can generate a bathimetry in minutes. Does anyone know something similar or better?
Like Reply   833 2014-09-23
Review by Richard Tilbe, VP Operations at Compass Geomatics Ltd
Outstanding Product intrinsically safe for the use in hazardous areas and very easy to operate. Easy to get to any site and Oceanscience is available for any logistical questions.
Like Reply   859 2014-09-23
Review by Aaron Harper, IT/Equipment Specialist at Lonnie G. Harper & Associates, Inc.
The Z-Boat 1800 works really well and suites our surveying needs in southwest Louisiana. The equipment was easily installed and the technical support from the manufacturer has been helpful with minimal response time. We would strongly recommend this product to other potential buyers.
Like Reply   889 2014-09-23
Review by Dave Pope, Pres. at DLP Consultants
I have used the Z Boat for the past several years and like it very much. I have added an FPV system so that I can see across the waterway and developed software to easily use the backup session file. Lots of room in the boat for additional instruments.
Like Reply   906 2014-09-23
Review by Sean, Jefferys at Barrick - Pueblo Viejo Dominicana Corporation
Successful commissioning of new systems such as the Z-Boat is wholly dependent on the support from and relationship with the vendor, in this case Ocean Science. Our team at PVDC in the Dominican Republic has a robust operational tool in the Z-Boat, used for monthly bathymetric surveys of the Tailings Storage Facility. A great product with excellent support.
Like Reply   961 2014-09-22
Review by Kevin Dons, Mining Engineer at Westmoreland Coal Company - Coal Valley Mine
A Z-Boat 1800 was purchased for and used at Coal Valley Mine for the purposes of performed bathymetric surveys in sediment ponds. The Z-Boat coupled with a Ceepulse single beam echosounder performed well in an industrial setting in water of varying degrees of turbidity. We did run into a wide range of issues during the course of operating the Z-Boat, but response from Oceanscience was always prompt and accommodating.
Like Reply   877 2014-09-22
 
Supplier Information
  • Teledyne Marine

  • 1026 North Williamson Blvd.
  • 32114 Daytona Beach
  • Florida
  • United States of America

 

 

Other products in USVs - Unmanned Surface Vehicles
Download the Brochure
Watch the video
All Product Categories